Human approach, high standards and recognized skills.

Areas of practice

Me Lormeau acts on behalf of a variety of clients in all types of litigation, namely:

Civil Liability

You suffered a prejudice because of someone else’s negligence? We will review every angle to get a fair compensation, either through a private dispute prevention and resolution process or the traditional judicial system.

Information Technology

The internet world is an ever-evolving environment and still, the upstream ways of creating digital content for the virtual world has mostly remained artisanal. Clients’ little behind the scene experience and their ignorance with regard to the creative process involved therein is the cause for serious misunderstandings.

Medical Liability

If it can be established that a doctor has diverged from standard medical practices, and that by doing so it has caused some prejudices, harm or damages to a person, then a liability claim must be filed within the next three years.

Latent Defects

From a legal perspective, a latent defect is one that is serious, non-apparent and existing at the time of the sale. As the buyer, you should rapidly give notice in writing to the seller. If you are the seller, take that notice very seriously and act on it. Every decision made during these early steps will be crucial in the following legal process.

Leasing

Rules differ noticeably between commercial and personal lease. In the first instance, they are usually agreed upon by the two parties before the agreement is signed. In the second instance, leases of dwellings are rigorously regulated by the Civil code of Quebec.

Co-Ownership

Divided co-ownership has a lot of advantages, but it can also bring a variety of inconveniences. People who are elected to manage those micro-societies don't always have the expertise regarding the buildings’ right maintenance. In addition, the co-owners interests are rarely based on the same level.

Legal counselling

Because of his experience and skills, Me Lormeau is often invited as a consultant and a lecturer in Research Ethics and Information technology.

Research Ethics

For over 10 years, Me Lormeau has been sitting on a number of ethic committees dedicated to medical research in hospital environments, often presiding them. Along that enriching process, Me Lormeau has acquired a wealth of experience in different fields such as cardiology, oncology, public and mental health.

Me Lormeau is also very familiar with the process of introducing, marketing and selling innovative drugs in Canada, especially when it comes to human clinical trials. He is mastering the body of standards regulating the research ethics both in Quebec and in Canada.

Information Technology

Along his practice as a lawyer and his dedication to research ethics, Me Lormeau has also founded Meridium Technologies, a company dedicated to new information technologies. He was involved in the development of many internet portals and web applications for several governmental agencies as well as international e-learning programs.

Me Lormeau has a strong expertise in securing cloud computing and in internet managing all the same. Moreover, he is a very well-recognized speaker when it comes to those subjects.

About

Me Sébastien Lormeau, B.Sc., LL.B.

With a degree in Law and in Biological Sciences from the Université de Montreal, Me Lormeau started his career in the middle of the 1990's at the Centre de recherche en droit public of the same university, specializing in comparative law where he joined the team of Professor Bartha Maria Knoppers, a world leading expert in medical research ethics.

After graduating, Me Lormeau was recruited by the oldest and most prestigious law firm in Canada, McMaster Meighen, that has now become Borden Ladner Gervais, still the most important law firm in the country.

During his years with BLG, Me Lormeau’s practice focused on commercial litigation and in medical liability. As such, he was involved in a numerous liability cases related to various hospitals affiliated with McGill University.

Since 2002, Me Lormeau is working independently, sharing his time between private practice, counselling for the firm Biotika, working on research ethics for numerous Quebec hospitals and business projects. Indeed, Me Lormeau founded Meridium Technologies in 2003, a company that specializes in information technologies.



contact

  • Phone:  +1-514-336-0974
  • Fax:  +1-514-221-4633
  • Email:  info@lormeau.ca
  • 7805, de Bécancour, Montréal (Québec) H4K 1G4
    Appointments only
© Me Sébastien Lormeau, 2016.

Une compétence reconnue, une approche humaine et des standards d'excellence.

domaines de pratique

Me Lormeau représente des clients dans le cadre de litiges civils en tous genres, en particulier dans les domaines suivants:

Responsabilité civile

Vous êtes avez subi des dommages causés par la négligence d'un tiers? Nous pourrons évaluer avec vous les diverses options disponibles vous permettant d'obtenir une juste réparation, allant des méthodes alternatives de résolution de conflit aux recours judiciaires traditionnels.

Technologies de l'information

Les projets web bougent très vite et même s'ils sont de plus en plus sophistiqués, les méthodes de création sous-jacentes sont néanmoins demeurées artisanales. À l'opposé, l'ignorance des clients en regard des pratiques de l'industrie et des impératifs technologiques peut être la source de sérieux malentendus.

Responsabilité médicale

La responsabilité d'un médecin est engagée lorsqu'il peut être démontré que les actes posés ne respectaient pas les bonnes pratiques médicalement reconnues et que ceux-ci ont causé un préjudice. Un recours en responsabilité doit normalement être intenté dans les trois ans suivant la faute médicale.

Vices cachés

Un vice caché, au sens de la loi, est celui qui est grave, non apparent et qui existait au moment de la vente. Si vous êtes l'acheteur, assurez-vous d'envoyer promptement une dénonciation à votre vendeur et si vous êtes le vendeur, prenez cette dénonciation très au sérieux. Les décisions prises à cette étape seront déterminantes pour la suite du dossier.

Louage

Les règles varient selon qu'il s'agit d'un bail commercial ou d'un bail de logement. Dans le premier cas, les règles sont généralement déterminées au préalable par les parties tandis que le bail de logement est rigoureusement encadré par les dispositions du Code civil du Québec.

Copropriété

La copropriété divise comporte plusieurs avantages, mais vivre dans cette microsociété comporte aussi son lot d'inconvénients. Les administrateurs du syndicat n'ont pas toujours les compétences requises en regard de l'entretien des bâtiments et les intérêts des copropriétaires sont rarement au diapason...

SERVICES-CONSEILS

En raison de son expertise, Me Lormeau est régulièrement sollicité à titre de consultant, formateur ou de conférencier dans les domaines suivants:

Éthique de la recherche

Depuis plus de 10 ans, Me Lormeau a siégé sur nombre de comités d'éthique de la recherche en milieu hospitalier et présidé certains d'entre eux. Au cours de cet exercice, Me Lormeau a acquis une solide expertise concernant la recherche en santé menée dans des domaines aussi variés que la cardiologie, l'oncologie, la santé publique et la santé mentale.

Me Lormeau est familier avec le processus conduisant à la mise en marché des nouveaux médicaments au Canada, particulièrement à l'égard des essais cliniques avec des sujets humains. Enfin, il est rompu à l'ensemble du corpus normatif encadrant l'éthique de la recherche, tant au Québec qu'au Canada.

Technologies de l'information

Concurremment à sa pratique privée en litige civil et son implication en éthique de la recherche, Me Lormeau a fondé Meridium Technologies, une entreprise oeuvrant dans le domaine des technologies de l'information. À ce titre, il a participé au développement de portails internet et à la conception de nombreuses applications web pour plusieurs sociétés d'État québécoises.

Me Lormeau dispose d'une solide expertise en regard de la sécurité des réseaux infonuagiques et de l'organisation d'internet en général. Il est d'ailleurs un conférencier reconnu dans ce domaine.

à propos

Me Sébastien Lormeau, B.Sc., LL.B.

Me Lormeau est diplômé de l'Université de Montréal en Sciences Biologiques et en Droit. Au milieu des années '90, il a débuté sa carrière dans le domaine de la recherche en droit comparé au Centre de recherche en droit public de l'Université de Montréal, dans l'équipe du Professeur Bartha Maria Knoppers, une sommité mondiale dans le domaine de l'éthique de la recherche.

À la fin de ses études en droit et en prévision de son stage, Me Lormeau a été recruté par la plus ancienne et certainement la plus prestigieuse firme juridique au Canada, McMaster Meighen, devenue plus tard Borden Ladner Gervais, qui demeure encore aujourd'hui le plus grand cabinet juridique au Canada.

Au cours des années passées chez BLG, Me Lormeau a travaillé en litige commercial et en responsabilité civile médicale. À ce titre, il a représenté nombre d'hôpitaux affiliés à l'Université McGill dans une variété de recours en responsabilité.

Depuis 2002, Me Lormeau pratique en solo et partage son temps entre la pratique privée, la consultation au sein de la firme-conseil Biotika, l'éthique de la recherche pour le compte de divers hôpitaux de la province et enfin, les affaires. En effet, en 2003 il a fondé Meridium Technologies, une entreprise oeuvrant dans le domaine des technologies de l'information.



contact

  • Téléphone:  +1-514-336-0974
  • Télécopieur:  +1-514-221-4633
  • Courriel:  info@lormeau.ca
  • 7805, de Bécancour, Montréal (Québec) H4K 1G4
    Sur rendez-vous seulement
© Me Sébastien Lormeau, 2016.